## **CITY OF WESTMINSTER**

## MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

At the Meeting of the Council of the City of Westminster held at 7.00 pm on Wednesday 21st January, 2015 at Porchester Hall, Porchester Road, Bayswater, London, W2 5DU

# **PRESENT**

The Lord Mayor, Councillor Audrey Lewis

# **COUNCILLORS**

Heather Acton Ian Adams Nickie Aiken

Barbara Arzymanow

Daniel Astaire Richard Beddoe Rita Begum David Boothroyd

Susie Burbridge Ruth Bush Melvyn Caplan Danny Chalkley Paul Church

Brian Connell Thomas Crockett Peter Cuthbertson

Robert Davis

Tony Devenish
Paul Dimoldenberg

Nick Evans Christabel Flight Jean Paul Floru Peter Freeman Murad Gassanly Jonthan Glanz

Barbara Grahame

Lindsey Hall Richard Holloway

Adam Hug Louise Hyams Patricia McAllister Guthrie McKie Tim Mitchell

Adnan Mohammed Nilavra Mukerji Jan Prendergast Papya Qureshi Suhail Rahuja

Vincenzo Rampulla

Robert Rigby Rachael Robathan Glenys Roberts Philippa Roe Ian Rowley

Karen Scarborough

Steve Summers Shamim Talukder Barrie Taylor Aziz Toki Judith Warner Jason Williams

## 1 APPOINTMENT OF RELIEF CHAIRMAN

1.1 The Motion was moved by the Lord Mayor and seconded by Councillor Melvyn Caplan that Councillor Louise Hyams be elected as Relief Chairman.

#### 2 MINUTES

2.1 The minutes of the proceedings of the Council meetings held on 12 November 2014 were, with the assent of the Members present, signed by the Lord Mayor as a true record of the proceedings.

## 3 LORD MAYOR'S COMMUNICATIONS

- 3.1 The Lord mayor referred to the Communications set out on the agenda.
- 3.2 The Lord Mayor advised that she had attended, on 9 January 2015, the funeral service of former Councillor Pamela Batty which had been attended by both former and serving Councillors. The Council stood in silence in memory of former Councillor Batty.
- 3.3 The Lord Mayor advised that this would be the last ordinary Council meeting attended by Leith Penny, Executive Director of City Management and Communities. The Leader of the Council and other Members spoke in tribute to his contribution to the Council over the last 28 years.

#### 4 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

4.1 Councillor Nick Evans declared a personal interest as a former member of the military.

## 5 PETITIONS AND DEPUTATIONS (IF ANY)

5.1 Councillor Paul Dimoldenberg presented a petition from residents living in the Fernhead Road area calling on the Council to introduce a 20mph speed limit on Fernhead Road between Carlton Vale and Shirland Road. The petition was referred to the Executive Director for City Management and Communities for reporting to the Cabinet Member for City Management, Transport and Infrastructure.

## 6 QUESTIONS

6.1 The questions, supplementary questions and replies will be included on the Council's website.

#### 7 COUNCILLOR ISSUES

- 7.1 Border Country Maida Vale Development Business and Community.
  - Councillor Crockett spoke and Councillor Astaire replied.
- 7.2 Lords, More than just a Cricket Ground.

Councillor Rigby spoke and Councillor Summers replied.

## 8 STATEMENT ON URGENT MATTERS

8.1 There were no urgent matters.

#### 9 FUTURE POLICY PLAN

9.1 The meeting debated the items chosen for debate from the Future Policy Plan by the Majority Party.

#### **Counter Terrorism**

The Majority Party had selected Item Number 32 on the Future Policy Plan: Counter Terrorism. The debate will be referred to the relevant Executive Director for consideration when next reporting on the subject.

## 12 NOTICE OF MOTION

The Minority Party had selected for debate the Notices of Motion as set out on the agenda.

The first item was the Notice of Motion – Private Rented Sector moved by Councillor Vincent Rampulla and seconded by Councillor Murad Gassanly. Following the debate the Lord Mayor put the motion – Private Rented Sector in Westminster to the vote.

In accordance with Standing Order 16 (2) a division was requested and granted. Accordingly there voted:

**In favour of the Motion:** Councillors Begum, Boothroyd, Bush, Dimoldenberg, Gassanly, Grahame, Hug, McAllister, McKie, Mukerji, Qureshi, Rampulla, Taylor, Toki and Williams.

**Against the Motion:** Councillors Acton, Adams, Aiken, Arzymanow, Astaire, Beddoe, Burbridge, Caplan, Chalkley, Church, Connell, Crockett, Cuthbertson, Davis, Devenish, Evans, Flight, Freeman, Glanz, Hall, Holloway, Hyams, Mitchell, Mohammed, Prendergast, Rahuja, Rigby, Robathan, Roberts, Roe, Rowley, Scarborough, Summers and Warner.

The Lord Mayor declared the Notice of Motion moved by Councillor Vincenzo Rampulla and seconded by Councillor Murad Gassanly **LOST**.

At 9.39pm the Lord Mayor advised that the time allocated for debates selected by the Minority Party had finished.

# 11 TERMINATION OF MEETING

The Lord Mayor then put the remaining business to the vote in accordance with Standing Order 18.

Council Tax Discounts (including Council Tax Local Reduction Scheme) and Council Tax Base Report.

The Lord Mayor put the recommendations of the Cabinet as set out in the report to the vote and on a show of hands declared the recommendations to be **AGREED**.

**RESOLVED:** That the recommendations set out in the report of the Cabinet (Agenda Item 10) be agreed.

The Meeting ended at 9.40 pm

CHAIRMAN:	DATE _	
	·	